“Lodge 150”

A lodge with 150% feel-good factor

The Lodge 150 is a declaration of love to nature. Located in the heart of the largest Styrian nature park, the Styrian Eisenwurzen Nature and Geopark, there are three other large protected areas in the immediate vicinity: in the west the Gesäuse and the Kalkalpen National Park, in the east the Dürrenstein Wilderness Area. Palfau serves as an ideal base for exploring these wild natural beauties at the interface of the Ennstaler and Ybbstaler Alps and the Hochschwab Group. Here, however, you can not only go high up, but also deep down. Into the Salza, the longest still unspoilt wild river in Austria. Forty kilometers of unregulated white water make the hearts of all water sports enthusiasts beat faster. But the Salza can do more than just fast currents, eddies and rapids. It has a reputation as one of the most beautiful wild rivers in Europe. And here, in the middle of this idyll, you will find the Lodge 150, probably the best temporary home. The number 150 is not an empty number, it is a promise: for 150% enjoyment of nature and 150% well-being.

Ode to the mountains: heart and home

But the Lodge 150 also stands for 150% mountaineering history. It is the home of the three brothers and well known mountaineers Franz, Adi and Lois Huber. Their home, the best school imaginable for what came next: the mountains of this world, the Himalayas, the 8,000-mark. The “Huber House” has remained in Huber’s hands. For Silvia Huber, daughter of Adi, the question never arose whether she should “simply sell off her home”, as she says. During the summer, the native Palfauerin runs a mountain hut in Tyrol, also for over 50 years Huber’s family business. Palfau however remains her home. So that it does not become too lonely in the large Huber house, Silvia decided to open the gates for guests. The Lodge 150 was created – and with it two apartments whose names couldn’t be more apt: Heart and home. The wood-panelled vacation apartments can accommodate four up to six people each, somewhere between traditional and modern. Fully equipped, with a balcony view of the Hochkar and

Gesäuse mountains, there is only one problem: You will not want to leave again.

Time for outdoors

Heart and home, that is also a message from Silvia to her guests: Against the short-livedness of a densely packed program marathon and for staying and enjoying. Seen in this light, you only need to really bring one thing with you: time. And in view of the surrounding landscapes, time is also needed. Mountain climbing in the Gesäuse, hiking in the natural monument Wasserlochklamm, swimming in the Salza, skiing on the Hochkar in winter or touring on the Gamsstein. And then there is the wilderness area Dürrenstein and the Hochschwab area or the visit of the UNESCO World Heritage Site Geodorf Gams – as well as Silvia’s brother, who serves the indisputably best baked potatoes on both sides of the Styrian borders in the waterhole tavern.

Luckily, you can also stay at the Lodge 150 for a longer period of time. Silvia is happy. The Huberhaus is supposed to be another 150%: 150% at home.

Two various apartments are available for 1-4 persons or 1-6 persons. Apartment “Heart” is located in a separate building and offers you private space over 67 m² including fully-equipped kitchen with dinning table, lounge and bath room. Bedclothes and towels are available. Outdoor area with great surroundings and view on the top.
The second apartment offers a living-kitchen area including a separate bathroom and two sleeping rooms. The balkony gives you an outstanding overview of Lower Palfau. Bedclothes and towels are available.

Adress:
Palfau 150, 8923 Palfau

deen

„Lodge 150“ – Apartment Herz

Eine Lodge mit 150% Wohlfühlfaktor

Die Lodge 150 ist eine Liebeserklärung an die Natur. Im Herzen des größten steirischen Naturparks gelegen, dem Natur- und Geopark Steirische Eisenwurzen, finden sich gleich drei weitere Großschutzgebiete in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft: im Westen die Nationalparks Gesäuse und Kalkalpen, im Osten das Wildnisgebiet Dürrenstein. Palfau dient als idealer Stützpunkt zur Erkundung dieser wilden Naturschönheiten an der Schnittstelle von Ennstaler- und Ybbstaler Alpen sowie der Hochschwabgruppe. Hier kann man aber nicht nur hoch hinaus, sondern auch tief hinein. In die Salza, den längsten noch unverbauten Wildfluss Österreichs. Vierzig Kilometer unreguliertes Wildwasser lassen die Herzen aller Wassersportler höher schlagen. Die Salza kann aber noch mehr als nur schnelle Strömungen, Wirbel und Stromschnellen. Ihr eilt der Ruf als einer der schönsten Wildflüsse Europas voraus. Und hier, mitten in diesem Idyll, findet man in der Lodge 150 die wohl beste Heimat auf Zeit. Die Hausnummer 150 ist keine leere Zahl, sie ist ein Versprechen: für 150% Naturgenuss und 150% Wohlfühlfaktor.

Ode an die Berge: Herz und Heimat

Die Lodge 150 steht aber auch für 150% Bergsteigergeschichte. Sie ist Heimathaus der drei Brüder und weithin bekannten Bergsteiger Franz, Adi und Lois Huber. Ihr Zuhause, die erdenklich beste Schule für das, was dann kam: die Gebirge dieser Welt, der Himalaya, die 8.000er-Marke. Das „Huberhaus“ ist in Huber’scher Hand verblieben. Für Silvia Huber, Tochter von Adi, hat sich die Frage nie gestellt, ob sie ihre „Heimat einfach verschachern“ solle, wie sie sagt. Den Sommer über bewirtschaftet die gebürtige Palfauerin eine Berghütte in Tirol, ebenfalls seit über 50 Jahren Huber’sche Familiensache. Palfau jedoch bleibt ihre Heimat. Damit es im großen Huberhaus nicht zu einsam wird, hat Silvia beschlossen, die Pforten für Gäste zu öffnen. Die Lodge 150 ist entstanden – und mit ihr zwei Apartments, deren Namen klingender nicht sein könnten: Herz und Heimat. In den holzvertäfelten Ferienwohnungen finden zwischen Tradition und Moderne jeweils vier und sechs Personen Platz. Voll ausgestattet, mit Balkonblick auf das Hochkar und die

Gesäuse-Berge, gibt es nur ein Problem: Man wird nicht wieder weg wollen.

Zeit für Draußen

Herz und Heimat, das ist auch eine Botschaft von Silvia an ihre Gäste: Wider die Kurzlebigkeit eines dicht gedrängten Programmpunktmarathons und für das Verweilen und Genießen. So besehen braucht man nur eins wirklich mitzubringen: Zeit. Und derer bedarf es angesichts der umliegenden Landschaften auch. Bergsteigen im Gesäuse, Wandern im Naturdenkmal Wasserlochklamm, Schwimmen in der Salza, winters Skifahren am Hochkar oder Tourengehen am Gamsstein. Und dann warten da ja noch das Wildnisgebiet Dürrenstein und das Hochschwabgebiet oder die Besichtigung des UNESCO-Welterbes Geodorf Gams – ebenso wie übrigens Silvias Bruder, der in der Wasserlochschenke die weithin unstrittig besten Ofenkartoffeln dies- und jenseits der steirischen Landesgrenzen kredenzt.

Ein Glück, dass man sich in der Lodge 150 auch für einen längeren Zeitraum einquartieren kann. Silvia freut sich. Das Huberhaus soll nämlich noch einmal 150% sein: 150% Zuhause.

Appartement Herz für 1-4 Personen:

Im separaten Zuhäusl als Maisonette auf 67 m² angelegt mit Blick vom Frühstückstisch zum Kirchkogel.

Über eine Holztreppe gelangen Sie vom geräumigen Vorraum in das giebeloffene Appartement. Dort überrascht Sie ein lichtdurchfluteter Wohnraum mit einem 6er Esstisch, einer Longcouch, einem Platzwunder vom Einbauschrank und einer vollständig ausgestatteten Küche, der in seiner Harmonie eine Heimeligkeit verströmt, die sofort den Wunsch nach möglichst langem Bleiben hervorruft. 2 kuschelige Schlafzimmer mit Doppelbett laden Langschläfer ein. Frühaufsteher können auf dem ostseitigen Balkon den Sonnenaufgang hinter dem Hochkar genießen. Das Badezimmer mit Dusche, WC und Waschbecken wird um die Annehmlichkeit eines extra WCs ergänzt.

Adresse
Palfau 150, 8923 Palfau