deen

Geopark

Styrian Eisenwurzen Geopark

UNESCO Global Geopark

UNESCO has cooperated closely with the European Geopark Network meeting its strict quality criteria right from the start. Under the auspices of UNESCO, the European Geoparks are now members of the Global Geopark Network on the one hand, and part of the UNESCO World Heritage on the other. Worldwide, there are 140 different Geoparks in 38 countries, most of them in Europe, while others can be found in East Asia, for instance in China or Japan.

Back in 2000, the European Geopark Network was founded by 4 regions. There are currently 73 members in 23 European countries such as Germany, Spain, Great Britain and Italy. In addition to the Styrian Eisenwurzen Geopark, there are three more Geoparks in Austria, one of them in Salzburg and two in Carinthia.

In 2002, the Styrian Eisenwurzen Nature Park was awarded the title of European Geopark and in 2004, it became a member of the Global Geopark Network under the auspices of UNESCO. In 2015, it was recognized as a UNESCO Global Geopark as part of the UNESCO World Heritage.

Further information at

Geoparks in Austria

A Geopark does not have a distinct degree of protection incorporated in the law, but it hold a title for areas with a particularly rich geological heritage and a strategy for sustainable regional development. A Geopark does not have to focus on its geological potential exclusively, it can also integrate sites of archaeological, ecological and cultural importance creating a link between them via a network.

European and Austrian Geoparks aim to achieve the following goals:

  • Raising environmental awareness among the public focusing on geotopics related to a specific area.
  • Creating added value on a regional basis by offering sustainable geotourism activities
  • Supporting and promoting academic research in the park.

For further information, please go to umweltbundesamt.at.

Austria has three more Geoparks besides the Styrian Eisenwurzen:

Downloads

Geopark Destinations

Ganser Grotto

As you hike along the Gasteiger loop trail in Moosland, it takes only a few steps to get to the Ganser grotto. It was once used for carving millstones and ashlar blocks for door frames out of the [...]

GeoPfad – GeoDorf Gams

Starting at GeoRama (Citizen Service Point, Gams 145), the 5 km, mostly easy GeoPfad (“path”) is made up of 48 things to see and learn. The path allows the visitor to get an understanding of the [...]

GeoRafting

Experience earth’s history in a rafting boat aka “Travel through time, do sports and explore Salza valley”.

GeoRama – GeoDorf Gams

The GeoRama (Citizen Service Point, Gams 145) is the ideal place to start a geological voyage of discovery in the region. Experience the tropical seas, the formation of the Alps and the Ice Age [...]

GeoWerkstatt – GeoDorf Gams

At the GeoWerkstatt (“workshop”) near Parkbad Gams, learning by doing is the name of the game. Supported by professionals, visitors can collect and uncover fossils. In addition to this, you get [...]

Kraus Cave – GeoDorf Gams

With a length of 350 metres, the Kraus Cave in the Noth Gorge is a truly amazing place. What makes it so special is its countless small gypsum crystals and stalactites that sparkle in the light. [...]

Noth Gorge – GeoDorf Gams

The Noth Gorge is part of the GeoPfad (“path”). The entrance to this unique gorge is located near the GeoWerkstatt (“workshop”) and the Parkbad. Almost floating – that’s the first impression [...]

Palfau Wasserloch Gorge

The Palfau Wasserloch Gorge is one of Austria’s most remarkable natural phenomena. Be it narrow canyons, intoxicating waterfalls, in-depth insights or expansive views: the Wasserloch Gorge has [...]

SpringWater Museum

Those interested in following the path of the Viennese water supply from inside the mountain to the tap should definitely pay the Wildalpen SpringWater Museum a visit. Visiting one of the largest [...]

Wildalpen Arzberg Cave

The protected Arzberg Cave is located near Wildalpen at 730 m above sea level at the northwest of the Arzberg mountain. On this tour, you’ll learn all about the Ice Age in the Salza valley. You [...]

Geology

Leaving no Stone Unturned – Introducing Geology

The whole of the Styrian Eisenwurzen Nature & Geopark is nestled in the Northern Limestone Alps. Most of the rocks found here date back to the Mesozoic Era. At the beginning of this era, 253 million years ago, there was only one single giant continent called Pangaea. The stones of the Limestone Alps were formed on the edge of an enormous bay of this giant continent.

Hornstein: hard as glass
240 million years ago, the sea flooded the landscape shaped by beaches and lagoons. This marked the beginning of the deposition process of limestone and dolostone, e.g. the predominant rocks of the Limestone Alps. The Reifling limestone, named after its occurrence in the Nature & Geopark community Großreiflling, is one of the oldest rocks. The rocks typically occur in the form of irregularly shaped, dark grey chert nodules arousing from the dissolved siliceous skeletons of radiata and sea sponges.

Limestone and dolomite: the backbone of the Limestone Alps
The seabed has been sinking throughout the entire Triassic Era. While it’s true that the sinking only amounted for fractions of a millimetre per year, this happened over a period of 45 million years. However, algae and marine animals lime residues compensated for the sinking, thus, the sea did not get any deeper in the meantime. With the beginning of the Jurassic Era 205 million years ago, the disintegration of the giant continent began. The exchange of deep and shallow parts of the sea has led to a great diversity of rocks deposited. Therefore, the Noth Gorge bears red limestone with numerous remains of sea lilies, animals related to starfish and sea urchins.

The day the Alps were born
Paradoxically, the Alps owe their existence to the advancing disintegration of the giant continent. With the uplift of the Alps, the Limestone Alps began to slip along with the greywacke zone towards the north and northeast. Still under water, the Limestone Alps pushed far above the edge of primeval Europe. During this process, the Limestone Alps broke into sections of different sizes which had often converged over miles. This is what we call the “nappes” of the Alps. One of these nappe boundaries is located at the northern rim of the Gesäuse Mountains.

Sand and clay
135 million years ago, the next era of earth’s history, the Cretaceous Era, and along with it, the rise of the Alps above sea level began. Later, 90 million years ago, an island landscape emerged in the south of the Limestone Alps. At that time, the Limestone Alps were still pushing north. While parts of them went up, others sank over time. In the sinking parts of the mountains, deposits of sand and clay were left behind. One of these reservoirs can be found in Gams.

The Ice Age
The ice age which started about 800 million years ago had a major influence on the landscape. As the glacier receded, the ice melted, and the rising rivers and streams carried huge quantities of rock debris which the glacier ice had left behind with them. As the current subsided, the rocks, e.g. gravels, were deposited filling the entire width of the valley. Due to limestone deposits, gravel cemented into conglomerate. Following a recent ice age which ended 12,000 years ago, the rivers have cut deep valleys into the conglomerate. The rims, which have a flat surface and steep cliffs, form terraces that extend from Hieflau to Großraming in Upper Austria in the Enns valley, and from Fachwerk to the mouth at Großreifling in the Salza valley.

Bibliography:

  • Bryda, G., D. van Husen, O. Kreuss, V. Koukal, M. Moser, W. Pavlik, H.P. Schönlaub, M. Wagreich (2013). Erläuterungen zur Geologischen Karte der Republik Österreich 1:50.000, Blatt 101, Eisenerz, 223 pp. Geologische Bundesanstalt Wien
  • Husen, D. van (2000). Austrian Geological processesduringtheQuaternary. Mitteilungen der Österreichischen Geologischen Gesellschaft, 92 (AspectsofGeology in Austria), 135 – 196.
  • Kollmann, H. A. (1998). Geologie des Gemeindegebiets. In: Meine Heimat. Heimatbuch der Gemeinde Gams: 22 – 30
  • Kollmann, H. A. (2009). A Review of the Geology of the Late Cretaceous-Paleogene Basin of Gams (Eastern Alps, Austria). In: The K/T boundary of Gams (Eastern Alps, Austria), A. F. Grachev, Ed. Abhandlungen der Geologischen Bundesanstalt 63: 9 – 13

Geopark

Steirische Eisenwurzen

UNESCO Global Geopark

Von Anfang an arbeitete die UNESCO eng mit dem Europäischen Geopark Netzwerk zusammen und verwendet dessen strenge Qualitätskriterien. Unter der Schirmherrschaft der UNESCO sind die europäischen Geoparks nun auch einerseits Mitglieder im Netzwerk der Global Geopark und andererseits Teil des UNESCO Welterbes. Weltweit gibt es 140 unterschiedliche Geopark in 38 Ländern. Die häufigsten finden sich in Europa, aber auch Ostasien wie zum Beispiel China oder Japan.

Das Europäische Geopark Netzwerk wurde im Jahr 2000 von 4 Regionen gegründet. Derzeit gibt es bereits 73 Mitglieder in 23 europäischen Ländern wie zum Beispiel Deutschland, Spanien, Großbritannien oder Italien. In Österreich befinden sich neben dem Geopark in der Steirische Eisenwurzen noch drei weitere Geopark, einer in Salzburg und zwei in Kärnten.

Der Naturpark Steirische Eisenwurzen wurde im Jahr 2002 als Europäischer Geopark ausgezeichnet und  wurde 2004 Mitglied im Netzwerk von „Global Geopark“ unter der Schirmherrschaft der UNESCO. 2015 folgte die Anerkennung zum „UNESCO Global Geopark.“, als Teil des UNESCO Welterbes.

Weiterführende Informationen:

Geopark in Österreich

Ein Geopark ist keine gesetzlich verankerte Schutzkategorie sondern ein Prädikat für Gebiete, die über ein besonders reichhaltiges geologisches Erbe sowie über eine Strategie zur nachhaltigen Regionalentwicklung verfügen. Ein Geopark muss nicht ausschließlich auf geologische Potenziale fixiert sein. Es können auch archäologisch, ökologisch und kulturell bedeutende Stätten integriert und in einem Netzwerk verbunden werden.

In Europäischen und österreichischen Geopark werden folgende Ziele angestrebt:

  • Umweltbildung für eine breite Öffentlichkeit mit einem inhaltlichen Schwerpunkt auf gebietsspezifische Geothemen.
  • Regionale Wertschöpfung durch nachhaltige geotouristische Angebote.
  • Unterstützung und Förderung der wissenschaftlichen Forschung innerhalb des Park.

Weitere Informationen dazu finden Sie auch unter umweltbundesamt.at

In Österreich gibt es neben dem Geopark Steirische Eisenwurzen noch drei weitere Geoparks:

Downloads

Ausflugsziele im Geopark

Arzberghöhle Wildalpen

Die geschützte Arzberghöhle liegt in einer Seehöhe von 730 m und befindet sich nordwestlich des Arzberges vor Wildalpen. Bei dieser Tour erfährt man so einiges über die Eiszeit vom Salzatal, von [...]

Gansergrotte

Von der gemütlichen Wanderung entlang des Gasteiger Rundwanderweges in Mooslandl zur Gansergrotte sind es nur ein paar Schritte. Hier wurden unterirdisch Mühlsteine und Quadersteine für [...]

GeoPfad – GeoDorf Gams

Direkt beim GeoRama (Bürgerservicestelle Gams, Gams 145) beginnt der 5 km lange, zumeist bequeme Geopfad mit 48 Stationen. Der Pfad lässt den Besucher auf informative Weise [...]

GeoRafting

Mit dem Raftingboot Erdgeschichte erleben - oder besser gesagt: "Eine sportliche Zeitreise durch das Salzatal mitmachen".

GeoRama – GeoDorf Gams

Das GeoRama ist der ideale Ausgangspunkt für jede geologische Entdeckungsreise in der Region. Im Zeitraffer erlebt man hier tropische Meere und die Zeit der Alpenentstehung und Eiszeit. Oder man [...]

GeoWerkstatt – GeoDorf Gams

Selbst Arbeiten ist in der GeoWerkstatt (beim Parkbad Gams) die Devise. Unter fachlicher Betreuung hat der Besucher die Möglichkeit Fossilien zu sammeln und sie von Gestein freizulegen. [...]

KrausHöhle – GeoDorf Gams

Die 350 Meter lange Kraushöhle in der Gamser Nothklamm ist ein Ort der Superlative: Ihre Besonderheit liegt im gemeinsamen Vorkommen unzähliger kleiner im Licht funkelnder Gipskristalle und [...]

Museum HochQuellenWasser

Wer den Weg des Wiener Wassers vom Inneren des Berges zum Wasserhahn verfolgen will, wird im Museum HochQuellenWasser Wildalpen in seinem Element sein. Ein besonderes Erlebnis ist der Besuch der [...]

NothKlamm – GeoDorf Gams

Die Nothklamm ist ein Teilstück des GeoPfades. In der Nähe der Geowerkstatt und des Parkbades beginnt der Einstieg in diese einzigartie Klamm. Fast schwebend – so ist der erste Eindruck, den der [...]

Wasserlochklamm Palfau

Eines der großartigsten Naturschauspiele Österreichs – die Palfauer Wasserlochklamm. Schmale Canyons, berauschende Wasserfälle, tiefe Einblicke und weite Ausblicke: Die Wasserlochklamm hat alles, [...]

Geologie

Kein Stein auf dem anderen – Eine kurze geologische Einführung

Der Natur- und Geopark Steirische Eisenwurzen liegt zur Gänze innerhalb der Nördlichen Kalkalpen. Die hier vorkommenden Gesteine stammen größtenteils aus dem Erdmittelalter. Vor 253 Millionen Jahren, am Beginn dieses Zeitalters, gab es einen einzigen riesigen Kontinent, genannt Pangaea. Am Rand einer riesigen Bucht des Riesenkontinents entstanden die Gesteine der Kalkalpen.

Hornstein: Hart wie Glas
Vor 240 Millionen Jahren überflutete das Meer die Strand- und Lagunenlandschaft. Damit begann die Ablagerung von Kalk und Dolomit, den vorherrschenden Gesteinen der Kalkalpen. Eines der ältesten Gesteine ist der nach dem Vorkommen von Großreifling im Natur- und Geopark benannte Reiflinger Kalk. Charakteristisch sind die unregelmäßig geformten, dunkelgrauen Hornsteine im Kalk. Entstanden sind sie aus den aufgelösten Kieselskeletten von Strahltieren und Meeresschwämmen.

Kalk und Dolomit: Das Rückgrat der Kalkalpen
Die ganze Trias hindurch senkte sich der Meeresboden. Es waren nur Bruchteile von Millimetern im Jahr, aber das ganze 45 Millionen Jahre lang. Trotzdem wurde das Meer nicht tiefer, denn die Ablagerung der Kalkreste von Algen und von Meerestieren glich die Absenkung aus. Vor 205 Millionen Jahren, mit dem Jura, setzte der Zerfall des Riesenkontinents ein.  Tiefe und seichte Meeresabschnitte wechselten jetzt und entsprechend verschiedenartig sind die dort abgelagerten Gesteine. In der Nothklamm in Gams folgen unmittelbar über dem Dachsteinkalk rote Kalke mit unzähligen Resten von Seelilien, Tiere aus der Verwandtschaft der Seesterne und der Seeigel.

Geburtsstunden der Alpen
Es klingt paradox, aber die Alpen verdanken ihre Entstehung dem fortschreitenden Zerfall des Großkontinents. Mit der Hebung der Alpen begannen die Kalkalpen mitsamt der Grauwackenzone gegen Norden und Nordosten abzugleiten. Immer noch vom Meer bedeckt, schoben sich die Kalkalpen weit über den Rand Ur-Europas. Dabei zerlegten sich die Kalkalpen in mehr oder minder große Abschnitte, die sich oft kilometerweit übereinander schoben. Es sind dies die berühmten „Decken“ der Alpen. Eine dieser Deckengrenzen befindet sich am Nordrand der Gesäuseberge.

Sand und Ton
Vor 135 Millionen Jahren begann der nächste Abschnitt der Erdgeschichte, die Kreidezeit und damit das Aufsteigen der Alpen über den Meeresspiegel. Vor 90 Millionen Jahren entstand im Süden der Kalkalpen eine Insellandschaft. Die Kalkalpen glitten zu dieser Zeit noch immer langsam gegen Norden. Dabei hoben sich Teile davon, andere senkten sich langsam. In absinkenden Teilen des Gebirges sammelten sich Sand und Ton. Eines dieser Sammelbecken ist das von Gams.

Eiszeit
Wesentlichen Einfluss auf die Landschaft hatte die Eiszeit, die vor ungefähr 800 Millionen Jahren einsetzte. Am Ende der Gletscher schmolz das Eis und es entsprangen Flüsse und Bäche. Sie schwemmten riesige Mengen von Gesteinstrümmern mit, die vom Gletschereis ausaperten. Dort wo die Strömung nachließ, wurden sie als Schotter abgelagert und füllten das Tal in seiner ganzen Breite aus. Kalkablagerungen verfestigten den Schotter zu Konglomerat. Seit dem Ende der Eiszeit vor 12.000 haben die Flüsse ihre Täler tief in das Konglomerat eingeschnitten. Seine auf der Oberfläche ebenen und steil zum Fluss abfallenden Kanten bilden die Terrassen, die sich im Ennstal von Hieflau bis Großraming in Oberösterreich und im Salzatal von Fachwerk bis zur Mündung bei Großreifling erstrecken.

Literatur:

  • Bryda, G., D. van Husen, O. Kreuss, V. Koukal, M. Moser, W. Pavlik, H.P. Schönlaub, M. Wagreich (2013). Erläuterungen zur Geologischen Karte der Republik Österreich 1:50.000, Blatt 101, Eisenerz, 223 pp. Geologische Bundesanstalt Wien
  • Husen, D. van (2000).  Austrian Geological processesduringtheQuaternary.  Mitteilungen der Österreichischen Geologischen Gesellschaft, 92 (AspectsofGeology in Austria), 135 – 196.
  • Kollmann, H. A. (1998). Geologie des Gemeindegebiets. In: Meine Heimat. Heimatbuch der Gemeinde Gams: 22 – 30
  • Kollmann, H. A. (2009). A Review of the Geology of the Late Cretaceous-Paleogene Basin of Gams (Eastern Alps, Austria). In: The K/T boundary of Gams (Eastern Alps, Austria), A. F. Grachev, Ed. Abhandlungen der Geologischen Bundesanstalt 63: 9 – 13